6

Scale-Up Module

Multigraphic

Strand cooling

SIGMA – Simulation of co-rotating twin screw extruders

The software is used to simulate compounding and processing operations on co-rotating twin screw extruders.

The comprehensive results of one-dimensional calculation models enable a quick assessment of the complete compounding process on tightly intermeshing, co-rotating twin-screw extruders.

Calculation options

Degree of dispersion

Filling degree

Degree of melting

Degassing capacity

Heat flow

Temperature profile

Power consumption

Strand cooling

Pressure gradient

Residence time profile

Carbon and glass fiber breakage

Mixing quality

Connected software

SIGMA3D

Three-dimensional numerical flow simulations of twin screw extruder elements.
Simply started. Automated evaluation.

More about SIGMA 3D
Click here

SIGMA ME

Stand-alone software
for fast generated and
clearly understandable screw drawings.

More about SIGMA ME:
Click here

SIGMA is a joint research project between leading industrial companies and the department of Plastics Technology at the University of Paderborn. The project started in 1992 and since then SIGMA has been continuously developed in two-year project steps.

Our goal is the continuous improvement of the fast and complete evaluation of twin screw processes as well as their optimization.

Features

Variation Manager

In order to be able to compare and assess the effects of different influencing variables, a variation manager is implemented in SIGMA. In this module, all variables that have an influence on the extrusion process can be varied. From simple parameters, such as the screw speed, to the material properties of the polymer and the geometry of individual elements, everything can be varied. In this way, every influence on the material can be recorded.

Multigraphic

A quick comparison of the simulation results of different processes is possible in the multigraphic module. There, different machines can be compared or the influence of process changes can be checked.

6

Scale-Up Module

The scale-up module is used to transfer an already designed process from one machine to another. According to the name, the primary use is the upscaling of a laboratory process to a high-throughput production unit. With this module, the parameters are quickly determined to implement the same process goals on another machine.

Strand cooling

SIGMA also calculates the strand cooling in the water bath. This function can be used to determine the temperature distribution in a polymer strand during cooling. A good support for the design of the cooling section.

Supported system components

Barrel elements

  • Standard barrel
  • Feeding barrel (lateral and vertical addition)
  • Degassing barrel
  • Intermediate plates
  • Combination barrel

Screw elements

  • Conveying and re-conveying elements
  • Pushing flight elements
  • Kneading elements
  • Shoulder kneading elements
  • Eccentric kneading elements
  • Screw mixing elements
  • Tooth mixing elements
  • Blister elements (accumulation discs)
  • Transition elements

Configuration of melt filters and extrusion dies for process simulation

Kneading block

Conveying element

SIGMA3D

An interface to three-dimensional flow simulations of individual screw sections is provided by the SIGMA3D module.

The special feature of the module is the complete automation of all work steps. The user only has to define which screw sections are to be simulated and how the simulation results are to be evaluated. The steps of geometry generation, meshing and result evaluation are performed in the background without user involvement.
Die anfallenden Schritte der Geometrieerzeugung, des Vernetzens und der Ergebnisauswertung werden ohne Beteiligung des Benutzers im Hintergrund durchgeführt.

The module runs on Windows operating systems and was developed together with IANUS Simulation GmbH. The basis of the numerical calculations is the FeatFlow software package developed by Prof. Dr. Stefan Turek at the TU Dortmund University.

 

 

 

SIGMA ME

Another component of the SIGMA project is the SIGMA ME program. With this stand-alone machine editor, a user can assemble a screw and barrel configuration from an existing machine tool kit in just a few steps. Thus, the machine editor is particularly suitable for quick screw drawing in the laboratory. Since SIGMA ME also offers functions for importing and exporting machine data from the main SIGMA program, geometries and configurations can be easily exchanged between the office and the technical center.

How can I purchase the software?

Our software products are not subject to a classic licensing model. Rather, we aim to advance the development of the software together with our partners. This means that we conduct joint research projects in two-year terms, in the context of which the rights of use for the respective software product are agreed.

 

PAM - Paderborn
Material database

The Paderborn Material Database is a software tool for managing and evaluating material data in the field of plastics technology.

Contact

D. Karch, M.Sc.

D. Karch, M.Sc.

Project Manager SIGMA

Kunststofftechnik Paderborn gGmbH
Universität Paderborn
Pohlweg 47-49
D-33098 Paderborn

Tel.: 05251/60-3837
E-Mail: info@ktp-software.de

1 + 7 =

Contact

D. Karch, M. Sc.

Project Manager SIGMA

Kunststofftechnik Paderborn gGmbH
Universität Paderborn
Pohlweg 47-49
D-33098 Paderborn

Tel.: 05251/60-3837
E-Mail: info@ktp-software.de

4 + 3 =

6

Scale-Up

Multigrafik

Strangabkühlung

SIGMA – Simulation gleichläufiger Doppelschneckenmaschinen

Die Software dient zur Simulation von Aufbereitungs- und Verarbeitungsprozessen auf gleichläufigen Doppelschneckenextrudern.

Die umfangreichen Ergebnisse eindimensionaler Berechnungsmodelle ermöglichen eine schnelle Beurteilung des vollständigen Compoundierprozesses auf dichtkämmenden, gleichläufigen Doppelschneckenextrudern.

Berechnungsoptionen

Dispergiergüteverlauf

Füllgradverlauf

Aufschmelzverlauf

Entgasungsleistung

Wärmestromverlauf

Temperaturverlauf

Leistungsaufnahme

Strangabkühlung

Druckverlauf

Verweilzeitverlauf

Carbon- und Glasfaserbruch

Mischgüte

Angeschlossene Software

SIGMA3D

Dreidimensionale numerische Strömungssimulationen von Doppelschneckenelementen.
Einfach gestartet. Automatisiert ausgewertet.

Mehr zu SIGMA 3D:
Hier klicken

SIGMA ME

Eigenständige Software
für zügige erstellte und
klar verständliche Schneckenzeichnungen.

Mehr zu SIGMA ME:
Hier klicken

SIGMA ist ein Gemeinschaftsforschungsprojekt führender Industrieunternehmen und des Lehrstuhls für Kunststofftechnik an der Universität Paderborn. Begonnen hat das Projekt im Jahr 1992. Seitdem wird SIGMA in zweijährigen Projektschritten kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt.

Unser Ziel ist die stetige Verbesserung der schnellen und vollständigen Beurteilung von Doppelschneckenprozessen sowie deren Optimierung.

Features

Variationsmanager

Um die Auswirkungen unterschiedlicher Einflussgrößen vergleichen und beurteilen zu können, ist in SIGMA ein Variationsmanager implementiert. In diesem Modul können alle Größen variiert werden, die einen Einfluss auf den Extrusionsprozess haben. Von simplen Parametern, wie der Schneckendrehzahl, über die Materialeigenschaften des Polymers bis zu der Geometrie einzelner Elemente kann alles variiert werden. So lässt sich jeder Einfluss auf das Material erfassen.

Multigrafik

Ein schneller Vergleich der Simulationsergebnisse unterschiedlicher Prozesse ist in der Multigrafik möglich. Dort können verschiedene Anlagen gegenübergestellt oder der Einfluss von Prozessänderungen überprüft werden.

6

Scale-Up-Modul

Das Scale-Up-Modul dient zur Übertragung eines bereits ausgelegten Prozesses von einer Anlage auf eine andere. Entsprechend des Namens ist der primäre Einsatz das Hochskalieren eines Laborprozesses auf eine durchsatzstarke Produktionsanlage. Mit diesem Modul sind die Parameter schnell bestimmt, um die gleichen Verfahrensziele auf einer anderen Anlage umzusetzen.

Strangabkühlung

SIGMA berechnet auch die Strangabkühlung im Wasserbad. Mit dieser Funktion lässt sich die Temperaturverteilung in einem Polymerstrang während der Abkühlung ermitteln. Eine gute Unterstützung bei der Auslegung der Kühlstrecke.

Unterstützte Anlagenkomponenten

Zylinderelemente

  • Normalzylinder
  • Zugabezylinder (seitliche und vertikale Zugabe)
  • Entgasungszylinder
  • Zwischenplatten
  • Kombinationszylinder

Schneckenelemente

  • Förder- und Rückförderelemente
  • Schubkantenelemente
  • Knetelemente
  • Schulterknetelemente
  • exzentrische Knetelemente
  • Schneckenmischelemente
  • Zahnmischelemente
  • Blisterelemente (Stauscheiben)
  • Übergangselemente

Konfiguration von Schmelzefilter und Extrusionswerkzeugen für die Prozesssimulation

Knetblock

Förderelement

SIGMA3D

Eine Schnittstelle zu dreidimensionalen Strömungssimulationen einzelner Schneckenabschnitte bietet das SIGMA3D-Modul.

Das besondere Merkmal des Moduls ist die vollständig Automatisierung aller Arbeitsschritte. Der Anwender muss nur definieren welche Schneckenabschnitte simuliert werden sollen und wie die Simulationsergebnisse auszuwerten sind.
Die anfallenden Schritte der Geometrieerzeugung, des Vernetzens und der Ergebnisauswertung werden ohne Beteiligung des Benutzers im Hintergrund durchgeführt.

Das Modul läuft auf Windows Betriebssystemen und wurde gemeinsam mit der IANUS Simulation GmbH entwickelt . Die Basis der numerischen Berechnungen stellt das von Prof. Dr. Stefan Turek an der TU Dortmund entwickelte FeatFlow-Softwarepaket dar.

 

 

 

SIGMA ME

Eine weitere Komponente des SIGMA-Projekts ist das Programm SIGMA ME. Mit diesem eigenständigen Maschineneditor kann ein Benutzer in wenigen Schritten aus einem bestehenden Maschinenbaukasten eine Schnecken- und Zylinderkonfiguration zusammenstellen. Somit eignet sich der Maschineneditor insbesondere für die schnelle Schneckenzeichnung im Laborbetrieb. Da SIGMA ME außerdem Funktionen zum Import und Export von Maschinendaten aus dem Hauptprogramm SIGMA bietet, ist ein einfacher Austausch von Geometrien und Konfigurationen zwischen Büro und Technikum möglich.

Wie kann ich die Software erwerben?

Unsere Softwareprodukte unterliegen keinem klassischem Lizenzmodell. Vielmehr zielen wir darauf ab, die Entwicklung der Software mit unseren Partnern gemeinsam voran zu bringen. Das bedeutet, dass wir in zweijährigen Laufzeiten Gemeinschaftsforschungsprojekte durchführen, im Rahmen dessen die Nutzungsrechte für das jeweilige Softwareprodukt vereinbart werden.

 

PAM - Paderborner
Materialdatenbank

Die Paderborner Materialdatenbank ist ein Softwaretool zur Verwaltung und Auswertung von Materialdaten im Bereich der Kunststofftechnik.

Kontakt

D. Karch, M.Sc.

D. Karch, M.Sc.

Projektleiter SIGMA

Kunststofftechnik Paderborn gGmbH
Universität Paderborn
Pohlweg 47-49
D-33098 Paderborn

Tel.: 05251/60-3837
E-Mail: info@ktp-software.de

4 + 2 =

Kontakt

D. Karch, M. Sc.

Projektleiter SIGMA

Kunststofftechnik Paderborn gGmbH
Universität Paderborn
Pohlweg 47-49
D-33098 Paderborn

Tel.: 05251/60-3837
E-Mail: info@ktp-software.de

7 + 5 =